top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmelia Aitkin-Deane

An Instagram account so good you could eat it!

Sarah Macdonald from @sarahs_spoonful (aka Instagrams most delicious foodie page) chats with me about all things health & how nutrition changed once she moved out of home, academic success, the struggles of internships as a uni student & the hierarchal nature of a law firm as well as why she created such a delectable IG page.

Could you tell me a little summary of who you are, what you do and what you’re truly passionate about?

Hello! My name is Sarah. I’m a 22-year-old law & journalism student living in Sydney, Australia. I also work in a law firm and, on the side of all of that, I love to pursue my passion for health through my lifestyle and my Instagram, @sarahs_spoonful. I have SO many passions – which is why I always have a lot on my plate! I’m a very creative person; I used to draw and paint a lot and now I channel that into my food photography and my writing for my blog. I also love being by the beach and in nature and moving my body – that post-workout endorphin rush is one of my favourite feelings!


Why did you start @sarahs_spoonful?

I’ve always loved food and I’ve enjoyed making healthy, delicious meals, even when I was really busy as a student. I was following all of these food blogs on Instagram last year, and I slowly realised that I was already doing what they were doing – I just wasn’t sharing it. I decided to change that! Sarah’s Spoonful was born from that passion, and as a creative outlet to balance out the dry side of my studies in the law – I love what I study, but it can be pretty dense. I quickly began to love arranging, styling and taking my food and sharing blog articles and content on my page. I found that sharing about my lifestyle here in Sydney (my workouts, meals out and ways in which I pursue a healthy life) made me really connected to those practices that I loved, and so the mix of content that I post now grew from there.


How did you first get into this healthy, nutritionally dense way of eating? Was there a breaking point in your health that pushed you down this path?

I’m lucky enough to come from a family that was always big on sharing lots of healthy, wholesome, creative food! I grew up eating a lot of delicious food and that definitely was a major inspiration for me. I think the moment that I truly began to care about how I ate came about a year after I moved out of home. I was cooking for myself and I slowly realised that my diet was shifting towards easier, less healthy things and I could totally feel the difference that it was making to my body. I knew how I wanted to be eating and feeling, and so I began to actively build up healthy habits and practices whilst I managed my student budget. I’d say that I’m currently in a really good place with balancing my diet, my budget and my lifestyle and it’s something that I now want to share with others.


How would you describe yourself as a leader?

Funnily enough I’ve always found myself drawn to leadership roles – I was actually House Captain and then Year Group Representative when I was at High School! I always have a very strong vision for projects and groups that I am a part of and I’m a very driven, organised person. I think having that long-term perspective and then the motivation and organisational skills on an everyday basis to get there is a really important part of leadership.


What is something you love AND dislike about your work in terms of staff empowerment and culture?

I think that staff empowerment is SO important. Empowered staff are more independent, engaged and invested in their work – and obviously, those are the benefits that exist beyond the basic issues of respect and promoting a healthy workplace culture. Because of the nature of the work, the law firm I work in is quite hierarchical and divided through age, position and qualifications. I recognise that’s important, but having respect and empowering staff within that structure is important and I’m lucky enough to enjoy that in my workplace. On the other hand, one thing that happens in the media side of my studies that I strongly dislike is unpaid internships. Many media students see them as essential for getting a job once they graduate, and unfortunately they’re probably right, which means that employers have all the power in these situations. I’ve heard of businesses that are run entirely on the work of countless unpaid internships, who complete hundreds of hours of unpaid work and are rewarded at the end of their stint with a $100 gift voucher and a handshake. I think it’s a system that needs to be completely overhauled – it’s not the only way to gain experience and it’s highly unfair to those students that can’t afford to give up one or two days a week for unpaid work. It’s very disempowering.


What has been your proudest moment in your career? I’m still a student and I’m involved in a lot of things, so I’m not quite sure! In terms of my academic career, I’ve had lots of proud moments: getting into my course, getting chosen for voluntary legal mentor and presenter roles and getting my first role within the legal industry were all very exciting moments. Something else I’m really proud of in my Instagram ‘career’ (haha) is finishing my Ebook (which comes out on 27 March). It is 175+ pages of healthy recipes and tips for living on a budget and I wrote, designed, photographed and put the whole thing together while I was studying and working. It was a massive undertaking and I’m so proud of the result!


What are some daily rituals/thoughts you perform to promote happiness and wellness within your life?

I am very conscious of incorporating things that make me happy and healthy into my daily life. I am always super busy, and so if I don’t actively do this then those rituals can easily get pushed back and end up not happening. I always try to drink lots of water throughout my day – I measure it through the drink bottle I use and try to drink at least two litres a day. I also always try to move my body and spend some time outside. This doesn’t have to mean working out! It can be as simple as taking my lunch outside on a workday and spending time out of the office in the sun, or going for a walk. I find that really helps my headspace. I also prioritise communicating with my family, my boyfriend and my closest friends. It gives me perspective, support and strengthens my intimate connections with the people that mean the most to me. Finally, I always try to go to bed early! I aim to be in bed by 10pm so I have enough sleep and can jump out of bed early and ready for the day in the morning.


Where can we find you? #socials

On Instagram at @sarahs_spoonful and online at sarahsspoonful.com. Come say hello!

74 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page